Włodzimierz Mlak and Zdzisław Opial Award

The award named after two late Krakow mathematicians, Włodzimierz Malak and Zdzisław Opial is awarded every two years for outstanding achievements in differential equation theory and operator theory.

The award was first given to Prof. Tadeusz Figiel. The candidates are proposed by the members of the councils of the Faculties of Mathematics from the state higher education institutions and the Institutes of the Polish Academy of Sciences which have the right to confer postdoctoral titles. The candidates' entries should be submitted until the end of January of the year in which the award is to be given.    

The award has been funded by the disciples of Prof. Włodzimierz Mlak: Prof. Jan Janas and Prof. Wacław Szymański.